Reliable hardware for the recording and evaluating of betting slips

The cooperation between the firm Booxware Software Systems GmbH with headquarters in Karlsruhe-Durlach and DATAWIN GmbH has existed since 2008. Booxware designs sport bets software and is an exclusive outfitter for betting agencies, among which the most successful betting providers in Germany and Europe are numbered. Booxware has been collaborating successfully with its final customer Tipico since 2004.

Tipico was founded in 2004 and within the space of a few years it has developed into the leading private provider of sport bets. In the Federal Republic of Germany alone Tipico has over 850 sales points and approx. 400 additional shops in Austria, Belgium, Cyprus and Denmark. Tipico offers over 9,000 events with a variety of types of bets and combination possibilities every week. Tipico has advertising partnerships with Oliver Kahn as well as with the German Soccer League clubs TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, SC Freiburg, Hamburger SV, SV Werder Bremen and VfL 1848 Bochum.

Initial situation At a Tipico sales point there are several ways to place a bet, among these, at the counter or at a terminal. At the counter the person placing the bet first of all marks the outcome of the event that he predicts on a betting slip. The slip is then read manually by an optical mark document reader and evaluated. Then the better pays and receives a receipt. 

At the counter Tipico employs the DATAWIN OMR 19E. The device is regarded as a classic in the betting sector, it is in use a thousand times over world-wide and is esteemed because of its great recording and operating reliability.

Project aims Development of an OMR document reader for integration in terminals. Software, interfaces and documents of the terminal devices are to be adapted to correspond to the proven counter devices (DATAWIN OMR 19E), in order to simplify the handling of the bets for the partners, betting customers and employees. The slot readers are to operate just as reliably respecting recording and as disturbance-free as the DATAWIN counter devices.

Project description DATAWIN designs, develops and manufactures the built-in device DATAWIN OMR 23E. The built-in optical mark reader is exactly aligned to the dimensions of the Tipico terminals and 100% compatible to the DATAWIN OMR 19E counter mark reader. Up to now a total of about 300 specimens of the DATAWIN OMR 23E have been delivered to Booxware and integrated into the terminals on site.

Mr. Dimitry Voelkle, Marketing and Sales Manager (Booxware): "For business in our subsidiaries the high availability of our optical mark readers is of eminent importance. We are therefore very satisfied that with the DATAWIN OMR 23E we now have a terminal device available that is equal to our DATAWIN counter devices in quality and reliability. The compatibility of the devices simplifies the handling both for our customers and for our employees."

Zuverlässige Hardware zur Erfassung und Auswertung von Wettscheinen

Seit 2008 besteht die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Firma Booxware Softwaresysteme GmbH mit Hauptsitz in Karlsruhe – Durlach und der DATAWIN GmbH. Booxware ist Entwickler von Sportwetten-Software und Exklusivausstatter für Wettbüros, zu denen die erfolgreichsten Wettanbieter aus Deutschland und Europa gehören. Seit 2004 arbeitet Booxware erfolgreich mit dem Endkunden Tipico zusammen

Tipico wurde 2004 gegründet und hat sich innerhalb weniger Jahre zum führenden privaten Anbieter von Sportwetten entwickelt. Tipico besitzt allein in Deutschland über 850 Annahmestellen, ca. 400 weitere Shops in Österreich, Belgien, Zypern und Dänemark. Tipico bietet wöchentlich über 9.000 Ereignisse mit den verschiedensten Wettarten und Kombinationsmöglichkeiten an. Werbepartnerschaften unterhält Tipico mit Oliver Kahn sowie den Fußball-Bundesligisten TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, SC Freiburg, Hamburger SV, SV Werder Bremen und VfL 1848 Bochum.

Ausgangssituation
In einer Tipico Annahmestelle gibt es mehrere Möglichkeiten, eine Wette zu platzieren, u.a. am Counter oder  am Terminal. Am Counter markiert der Spieler zunächst auf einem Wettschein (Karte) das von ihm prognostizierte Ergebnis, die Karte wird händisch einem optischen Markierungsbelegleser zugeführt und ausgewertet. Anschließend folgt die Bezahlung und Quittierung der Wette.

Für die Counter nützt Tipico den DATAWIN OMR 19E. Das Gerät gilt als Klassiker in der Wettbranche, ist weltweit tausendfach im Einsatz und wird für seine hohe Erfassungs- und Betriebssicherheit geschätzt.

Projektziele
Entwicklung eines OMR-Belegleser zur Integration in Terminals. Software, Schnittstellen und Belege der Terminal-Geräte sollen denen der bewährten Counter-Geräte (DATAWIN OMR 19E) angepasst werden, um das Handling für Partner, Wettkunden und Mitarbeiter zu vereinfachen. Die  Schlitzleser sollen dabei ebenso erfassungs- und betriebssicher arbeiten wie die DATAWIN Counter-Geräte.

Projektbeschreibung
DATAWIN entwickelt, konstruiert und fertigt das Einbaugerät DATAWIN OMR 23E. Der Einbau-Markierungsbelegleser ist exakt auf die Maße der Tipico Terminals abgestimmt und 100%ig kompatibel zum Counter-Markierungsbelegleser DATAWIN OMR 19E. Insgesamt wurden bisher rund 300 Stück des DATAWIN OMR 23E an Booxware ausgeliefert und vor Ort in die Terminals integriert.

Herr Dimitry Völkle, Leitung Marketing und Vertrieb (Fa. Booxware): „Für unser Filialgeschäft ist eine hohe Verfügbarkeit unserer Markierungsbelegleser eminent wichtig. Darum sind wir sehr zufrieden, mit dem DATAWIN OMR 23E jetzt ein Terminal-Gerät zur Verfügung zu haben, dass unseren DATAWIN Counter-Geräten in Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit in nichts nachsteht. Die Kompatibilität der Geräte erleichtert sowohl unseren Kunden als auch unseren Mitarbeitern das Handling.“