Optimization of barcode-based acquisition of wage data with 300C scanner

For over 130 years, the Swabian underwear manufacturer ESGE has been producing up-to-date as well as timeless fashion and underwear collection which are characterized by uncompromisingly high standards of quality and first-class processing. With its capacity output of 75,000 underwear items per day, ESGE is numbered among the largest underwear manufacturers in Europe. The basis for its high product standars are its continuing further development and its modernization measures.

Initial situation
The acquisition of wage data in the ESGE production plant is effected by means of barcode recognition. The employees herby glue an appropriate barcode sticker onto a formatted document for each work step they perform and also a unique ID barcode that allocates the listed activity to their person. Before the use of DATAWIN devices, the wage data was recorded by barcode readers which were assembled from different components. However, in the year 2011 these barcode readers no longer represent state-of-the-art: with just under 400 documents per hour, throughput is very low. At the same time, the document feed mechanism often not equal to the exacting document material – because it is glued. And since the devices employed also do not have a sorting function, incorrectly or incompletely glued (not plausible) documents are not sorted out for later inspection, but instead they lead to the abortion of the reading process.

Project aims
The acquisition of the wage data barcodes is to take place faster, more reliably and with fewer breakdowns. Documents which are not plausible are to be sorted out into a “bad” tray. Besides that, they are to be displayed as images on a monitor at the end of the stack so that they can be analyzed and corrected there. All the acquired data is to be stored on the server. In the future, the drawing in of double documents is to be avoided.

Project description
In view of the defined project aims, DATAWIN proposes the implemention of its 300C scanner. The scanner which is based mechanically on the proven OMR 330S, is able to perfectly fulfill the defined requirements:  

With a throughput of 2,000 documents per hour, it reaches nearly fivefold the throughput of the former device. The automatic drawing off from the stack and the transportation of the documents have been tried and tested thousands of times and operate trouble-free even for sophisticated document materials. In case docuemnts are glued together, this is detected by means of a double document recognition feature and identified by means of a light transmission process. The twofold sorting enables sorting of the documents into the categories “good” and “bad” documents.

The precise recording of the barcodes, the archiving oft he documents and the display of not plausible documents on the monitor is achieved by means of the use of genuine scanning techniques. Moreover, a CIS line camera also employed. Software interfaces and user-friendly software are designed in close collaboration with the firm ESGE.

Up to now, two ESGE production sites have been equipped with the DATAWIN 300C scanner.

Thomas Rieber, ESGE: „Innovation and continual improvement are firmly anchored in the ESGE corporate philosophy. In DATAWIN we have found a partner who lives these values just as we do. The successful cooperation with DATAWIN has rendered the recording of our wage data quicker, more reliable and at the same time simpler.

Optimierung von Barcode-basierter Lohndatenerfassung mit OSR 300C

Der schwäbische Wäschehersteller ESGE produziert seit über 130 Jahren sowohl aktuelle als auch zeitlose Mode- und Wäschekollektionen, die sich durch einen kompromisslosen Qualitäts-anspruch und eine hochwertige Verarbeitung auszeichnen. Mit einer Kapazität von 75.000 Wäscheteilen pro Tag zählt ESGE zu den größten Wäscheherstellern im europäischen Raum. Basis des hohen Produktstandards bilden kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung und Modernisierungsmaßnahmen.

Ausgangssituation
Die Lohndatenerfassung in den ESGE Produktionsstätten erfolgt über Barcode-Erkennung. Dazu kleben die Mitarbeiter pro Arbeitsgang einen entsprechenden Barcode-Aufkleber auf einen formatierten Beleg, außerdem einmalig einen ID-Barcode, der die gelisteten Leistungen ihrer Person zuordnet. Vor dem Einsatz der DATAWIN-Geräte wurden die Lohndaten mit Barcode-Lesern erfasst, die aus verschiedenen Baugruppen assembliert waren. Diese Barcode-Leser entsprachen nicht mehr dem Stand der Technik: Mit knapp 400 Belegen pro Stunde war der Durchsatz gering. Gleichzeitig war die Belegzuführung dem anspruchsvollen – weil beklebten – Belegmaterial oft nicht gewachsen. Da die verwendeten Geräte zudem über keine Sortierfunktion verfügten, wurden falsch oder unvollständig beklebte (nicht plausible) Belege nicht zur späteren Prüfung aussortiert, sondern führten zum Abbruch des Lesevorgangs.

Projektziele
Die Erfassung der Lohndaten-Barcodes sollte deutlich schneller, verläßlicher und störungsunanfälliger werden. Nicht plausible Belege sollten in ein Schlechtfach aussortiert werden. Zusätzlich sollten sie nach Beendigung jedes Stapels als Image auf einem Monitor angezeigt werden, um dort bewertet und korrigiert werden zu können. Sämtliche erfassten Daten sollten auf dem Server abgelegt werden. Ein doppelter Belegeinzug sollte künftig vermieden werden.

Projektbeschreibung
Angesichts der definierten Projektziele schlug  DATAWIN den Einsatz des DATAWIN Scanners 300C vor. Der auf der mechanischen Basis des bewährten OMR 300S aufbauende Scanner erfüllt die definierten Anforderungen perfekt:

Mit einem Durchsatz von 2.000 Belegen pro Stunde erzielt er den nahezu fünffachen Durchsatz. Automatischer Abzug vom Stapel und Transport der Belege sind tausendfach praxiserprobt und arbeiten auch bei anspruchsvollem Belegmaterial störungsfrei. Eventuell zusammenklebende Belege werden von der Doppelbelegerkennung via Durchlichtverfahren identifiziert. Die Zweifachsortierung ermöglicht eine Sortierung der Belege in „gut“ und „schlecht“.

Die präzise Erfassung der Barcodes, die Archivierung der Belege und die Darstellung nicht plausibler Belege auf dem Monitor wird über den Einsatz echter Scan-Technik erreicht. Dazu kommt eine CIS-Line-Kamera zum Einsatz. Software-Schnittstelle und bedienerfreundliche Software entstehen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit ESGE.

Bislang wurden zwei ESGE Produktions-Standorte mit dem DATAWIN Scanner 300C ausgestattet.

Thomas Rieber, ESGE: „Innovation und kontinuierliche Verbesserung sind fest in der ESGE Unternehmensphilosophie verankert. Mit DATAWIN haben wir einen Partner gefunden, der diese Werte lebt wie wir. Die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit DATAWIN hat unsere Lohndatenerfassung schneller, zuverlässiger und gleichzeitig einfacher gemacht.“